[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]

Record night for Hagen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

Sun Prairie, Wis., May 20—Darren Hagen won the 30-lap Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. Hagen completed the event in 7 minutes and 57 seconds, besting the track record set by Brad Kuhn on June 26, 2011, by over seven seconds.

Brady Bacon jumped into the lead at the start, and quickly increased his lead over the field to a straightaway advantage by Lap 5. Bacon continued to increase his lead each lap, while Andrew Fleker and Hagen waged a great battle for second position. Bacon led the field by over four seconds, with ten laps completed. Bacon encountered heavy lap traffic two laps later.

Hagen regained second position from Felker on Lap 18, one lap later Bacon with a six-plus second lead driving the Wilke-PAK No. 11, slowed with engine problems. Hagen continued to lead Felker, and over the final five laps increased his advantage to five car lengths at the finish. Hagen driving the RFMS Racing owned DRC/Ford-Esslinger No. 3 finished ahead of Felker, Austin Brown, Zach Daum, and Scott Hatton.

“It feels great to finally win here, after many close misses, this place has so much history” commented Hagen who became the 134th different midget feature winner at the facility in 67-years of racing. The finishes for Felker, Brown and Daum marked their career best feature finishes at the track.

Jason Dull won the 10-lap Badger 600 Micro Series feature, finishing ahead of defending Series Champion Matt Paderta, . Vance Lein and Ben Paderta. Dull passed leader Bogar in lapped traffic on Lap 4 to take the lead.

Brad Kuhn holds a twelve point lead over Travis Berryhill in Badger points heading into the May 25-26 “11th annual Sue Thiel Memorial”, Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series/Badger co-sanctioned at the track. Saturday Night’s event will pay $2,000 to win, with the first place prize on Sunday doubling to $4,000.


Badger Midgets
30-lap Feature: 1. Darren Hagen; 2. Andrew Felker; 3.Austin Brown; 4. Zach Daum; 5. Scott Hatton; 6. Dave Darland; 7. Davey Ray; 8. Brad Kuhn; 9. Brandon Waelti; 10. Mike Hess; 11. Travis Berryhill; 12. Jake Blackhurst; 13. Cody Weisensel; 14. Kurt Mayhew; 15. Brady Bacon; 16. Mark Heimert; 17. Stefanie Bigelow.

10-lap Heat Race Winners: Felker, Brown, Hagen.
Cars Present: 18 Feature Lap Leaders: Bacon 1-19, Hagen 20-30.
Badger Micros
10-lap Feature: 1. Jason Dull; 2. Chad Bogar; 3. Matt Paderta; 4. Vance Lein; 5. Ben Paderta; 6. Tory Strauss; 7. Will Gerrits; 8. Preston Benish; 9. D,J, Stefan; 10. Dustin Stefan; 11. Brian Hagland.
8-lap Heat Race Winners: M. Paderta, Bogar.

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed