[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button


The past two weeks the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints has showcased some of the hottest drivers in the country.  Last week Rico Abreu topped the action at the Dodge County Fairgrounds, and tonight 16-year-old sprint sensation Parker Price Miller captured top honors in the 2nd Annual Norm Nelson classic at Angell Park Speedway.

Miller, who hails from Kokomo, Indiana, is a regular on Tony Stewart’s All Star Circuit of Champions. He made an overnight trip from Eldora Speedway after attending the King’s Royal.  Miller estimated he got about one hour of sleep prior to tonight’s victory.

He made the trip worthwhile as he captured his seventh win of the 2015 season, and his first career checker with the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints.  In doing so he became the eighth different winner in IRA competition this season, and the sixth different winner in the past six events.

“We’ve been close here at Sun Prairie several times, it was pretty cool to get a win here in a winged car”, noted Miller.  “The crew and I are running on about one hour of sleep after Eldora.”  When asked about the upcoming All-Stars vs. IRA showdown at Wilmot Raceway next week Miller responded. “We’re going to go get some rest and get the cars ready.  We’ll be ready to get another win out there. “ Miller also offered an apology to Blake Nimee who he was attempting to lap and the resulting contact drew a late caution.  “I didn’t mean to get into the 79 out there, but I had to go.  I hope he understands and I apologize to him”, noted Miller.

Miller caught a hard charging Mike Reinke in lapped traffic on lap 25 of the 30 lap headliner.  Miller then held off Reinke after a late race caution to earn the victory.  For Reinke the second place performance tonight was his third consecutive podium finishing. After having won at Manitowoc two weeks ago Reinke has notched back-to-back second place performances.

“I kind of kept messing up behind the lapped cars. I just made some wrong decisions.  My crew gave me a
car to win with”, noted Reinke who continued his streak of podium runs.  “The crew gave me a car that was fast
enough I just didn’t get it accomplished”, Reinke explained.  Reinke is pleased with the season however.  “We have a good program, I try to go out and earn as much money as we can and not wreck anything”, he noted of his recent success.

Scotty Thiel equaled his best finish of the season taking home the final podium spot matching his performance at Manitowoc two weeks ago. The evening’s 30 lap A-main pushed off with Reinke starting on the pole of the contest, and Jordan Goldesberry to his outside.

At the drop of the green flag Reinke was able to slide up in front of Goldesberry garnering the lead position while Thiel did battle with 7-time IRA kingpin Bill Balog for the third spot. Balog held the third position briefly when he suddenly lost power coming off turn four on the second lap diving off the track while the field scattered behind him.   The caution flag then appeared slowing the pace.  It would be the end of a frustrating night for Balog, who earlier in the evening dropped from the feature in Midget competition after tangling with a back marker while leading.

Underway again Reinke went back to showing the way with Goldesberry, Thiel, and Miller in tow.  Miller wasted
little time advancing making effective passes using the low line coming off the turns.  He slipped past Thiel for third on lap four and then sliced past Goldesberry for the runner-up spot three circuits later.

Out front Reinke caught the tail of the field and began to work lapped traffic.  The duo of Reinke, and
Miller fought for the lead less than a car length apart darting in and out of lapped machines while separating themselves from the third place battle which waged between Goldesberry, and Thiel.

On lap 17 Jeremy Schultz, and Jim Moughan tangled while doing battle for the fifth spot, with both drivers coming to a halt in turn three.  Both were able to continue from the tail of the field after making repairs.

Underway again Reinke went back to setting the pace with Miller increasing the pressure with each passing lap.  After getting held up briefly by a lapped car Reinke would fall to Miller’s charge on lap 25.  Reinke
quickly gathered up momentum and started to seek a way back to the top spot.

On lap 27 Miller began to mix it up with lapped cars in effort to hold the lead spot, the machines of Blake Nimee, and Matt Vandervere would come to a rest on the racing surface on lap setting up a dash to the finish.  At the same time Goldesberry dropped from the event while running fourth.

Miller got a solid restart and Reinke was unable to challenge, having instead to fend off the advances of Thiel who was seeking the second spot.  Miller extended his lead to five car lengths over the final circuits to claim the
victory.  Reinke earned runner-up honors for the second straight week with Thiel joining the lead duo on the podium with a third place effort.

Two-time champion, and title contender Scotty Neitzel made solid progress throughout the contest advancing from the 12th spot on the grid up to fourth by the checker.  Neitzel had fought his way into the main event after
finishing runner-up to Bill Rose in the B-main.  Heading into the show Neitzel was the most recent winner in Sprint Car action at Angell Park having captured the win in the last appearance at the track
for the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints.

Scott Biertzer, the evening fast qualifier earned his first top five run of the season taking the fifth spot.
Bill Rose netted a sixth place performance and gained ground in the title chase.  He came into the
evening 25 markers behind Ben Schmidt in the season standings.  Rose gained ground, out qualifying Schmidt,
and finishing six spots ahead of him in the main event.

Phillip Mock had an impressive charge from 23rd to seventh passing the most cars in the main event.
Russel Borland, rookie of the year contender Kyle Marten and Scott Uttech completed the top ten finishers.

In earlier action Rose notched the victory in the B-main, chased to the finish by Neitzel, Mock, Vandervere, Josh Walter and Jereme Schroeder all of whom transferred. Four heat races were held with wins going to Borland, Reinke, Kris Spitz and Goldesberry.Biertzer bested the 33 car field in qualifying with a lap of 12.176 seconds narrowly missing the track record held by Ian Madsen who set the mark at 12.171 seconds just one month ago. Rose was second quick this evening with a lap of 12.205 seconds and Neitzel was third quick with a lap of 12.293 seconds.

30 Lap A-Main:

  1. Parker Price Miller; 2. Mike Reinke; 3. Scotty Thiel; 4. Scotty Neitzel, 5. Scott Biertzer; 6. Bill Rose; 7. Phillip Mock; 8. Russel Borland; 9. Kyle Marten; 10. Scott Uttech; 11. Ben Schmidt; 12. Jeremy Schultz; 13. Jason Johnson; 14. Donovan Peterson; 15. Bill Wirth; 16. Matt Vandervere; 17.Dave Uttech; 18.Wayne Modjeski; 19. Kris Spitz; 20. Jordan Goldesberry; 21. Blake Nimee; 22. Jim Moughan; 23. Byron Walters; 24. Bill Balog
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed