[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]

Hagen blisters Angell Park field to win Fredenberg Memorial

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

“Hagen blisters Angell Park field to win Fredenberg Memorial”

“Third APS feature win of season for California driver”

By Bryan Gapinski
Sun Prairie, Wis., Aug. 4—Darren Hagen won the 36th annual Al Fredenberg Memorial 50-lap feature Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. It mark Hagen’s third victory of the season at the track in the event sanctioned by the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.

Hagen jumped into the lead at the start of the event. At the completion of Lap 5 Hagen held a two second advantage over Jake Blackhurst and fast qualifier Terry Baab. Three laps later Hagen began lapping the tail of the field. Hagen increased his lead over Balckhurst to slightly over four seconds on Lap 10, Blackhurst open up a large advantage over a tightly packed group of who were battling for positions three-seven.

Hagen continued to lap cars, and led Blackhurst by 5.2 seconds at the midway point. Hagen lapped up to seventh position, when the caution appeared when Scott Hatton’s car stalled on Lap 32, erasing Hagen 7.1 second advantage. Hagen again pulled away on the restart, taking advantage of lapped cars between himself and second place Blackhurst. A stalled car on Lap 45, caused a caution, bunching up the field.
Baab jumped the cushion, with four laps remaining, collecting fourth and fifth place running Andrew Felker and Danny Stratton. Felker flipped escaping injury. On the restart Badger points Brad Kuhn passed Blackhurst for the second position. Hagen driving the RFMS owned DRC/Ford-Esslinger No. 3 finished ahead of Brad Kuhn, Blackhurst, and Davey Ray the only four cars to complete the full distance. Daniel Robinson finished fifth, as thirteen cars finished the race.

“The crew had this car perfect all night, it’s great to win a race that has as much history as this one here at Angell Park” commented Hagen who collected $3,200 for the victory.
Vance Lein after starting in seventh position worked his way to the lead on the sixth lap to win the Badger 600 Micro series feature, finishing ahead of: defending Series Champion Chad Bogar, Preston Benisch, Robby Resch and Jason Dull.

50-lap Feature: 1. Darren Hagen; 2. Brad Kuhn; 3. Jake Blackhurst; 4. Davey ray; 5. Daniel Robinson; 6. Austin brown; 7. Mike Hess; 8. Brandon Waelti; 9. Cody Weisensel; 10. David Gough; 11. Todd Lehr; 12. Bob Schreffler; 13. Kurt Mayhew; 14. Andrew Felker; 15. Danny Stratton; 16. Terry Babb; 17. Travis Berrhill; 18. Scott Hatton; 19. Bryon Walters; 20. Buddy Lowther; 21. Evan Pardo.
10-lap Heat Race Winners: Hatton, Felker, Hess.
Fast Time: Baab, 14.486 seconds.
Cars Present: 22 Feature Lap Leaders: Hagen 1-50.
* Felker flipped on Lap 45 of feature, no injuries.

15-lap feature: 1. Vance Lein; 2. Chad Bogar; 3. Preston Benisch; 4. Robby Resch; 5. Jason Dull; 6. Brandon Sletten; 7. Will Gerrits; 8. Norm Ehrke; 9. Jason Tetrault; 10. Scott Crawford; 11. Dustin Stefan; 12. Matt Paderta; 13. Tory Strauss; 14. Daniel Stefan.
8-lap Heat Winners: Benisch, Dull.
Feature Lap Leaders: Tetrault 1-6 Lein 7-15.

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed