[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]

Balog scores second straight Angell Park WIN

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

Sun Prairie, Wis., June 21—Billy Balog won the 20-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. It was the second straight series victory for Balog.

Cody Weisensel took the lead at the start. A caution on the fourth lap erased Weisensel’s lead. On the restart Balog passed Weisensel for the lead entering Turn 3.  David Budres moved into the second position three laps later. Balog increased his lead each lap, despite being in lapped traffic the second half of the event. Third place running Weisensel came to a stop bringing out the caution with two laps remaining erasing Balog’s advantage.

On the restart Balog ran the high side, while Budres tried the lower groove. Balog driving the RAB owned Spike/Fontana No. 57 finished two-car lengths ahead of Budres, with Buddy Luebke, Ray Seach, and Kurt Mayhew completing the top five. “The midget setup was spot-on by car owner Bill Ecker tonight” commented Balog.

Zach Boden took the lead on a Lap 7, to win his second Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My Race Pass feature of the season. Tyler Brabant who paced the opening six laps finished second, followed by Minnesota’s Val Urman, Chad Bogar and Denver Larson.

The next event at the track will be Sunday July 5, “The 34th annual Pepsi Midget Nationals” sanctioned by USAC National, POWRi National, and Badger Midget Series. The Badger 600 Micros, and Wisconsin Dirt Racing Legends will also be competing.



30-lap feature: 1. Billy Balog; 2. David Budres; 3. Buddy Luebke; 4. Ray Seach;  5. Kurt Mayhew; 6. Mike Stroik; 7. Aaron Schuck; 8. Tommy Bigelow; 9. Don Bigelow; 10. Cody Weisensel; 11. Derek Childs; 12. Bryce Dunn; 13. Denny Smith.

8-lap Heat Race Winners: Balog, Budres.

Cars Present: 13 Feature Lap leaders: Weisensel 1-4, Balog 5-20.



15-lap Feature: 1. Zach Boden; 2. Tyler Brabant; 3. Val Urman; 4. Chad Bogar; 5.Denver Larson; 6. Jake Gerrits; 7. Jason Dull; 8. Andy Rein 9. Dylan Larson; 10. Dave Collins; 11. Tory Strauss; 12. Will Gerrits; 13. Jake Goeglein; 14. Norm Ehrke.

8-lap Heat Race Winner: Bogar, Boden.

Cars Present: 14 Lap Leaders: Brabant 1-6, Boden 7-13.




















Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed