[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars return to America’s Dairyland for a three-race swing in the state of Wisconsin on August 7-8-9 that concludes Sunday, August 9 at the historic Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie.

Rocklin, California native Robert Ballou stands atop the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car point standings by a 40-point margin over Chase Stockon.  Ballou, who just recently earned his first “Indiana Sprint Week” title, leads the series with seven feature wins on the season.  Stockon, of Elizabethtown, Indiana, has swapped the point lead with Ballou on a couple of occasions this year. Despite only one feature win to his credit at the Gas City I-69 Speedway in July, Stockon has scored a slew of consistent results, finishing outside of the top-ten in only one of his 22 starts in 2015.

Dave Darland, of Lincoln, Indiana, currently resides in the third spot in the standings with two feature victories on the season, but is still seeking that elusive 100th USAC National victory.  Darland, the USAC national sprint car division’s all-time winningest driver with 56 career victories, hasn’t reached victory lane in USAC competition since a late-race pass for the win at Eagle (Neb.) Raceway in April.  Fourth place Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma has been hot of late.  The defending AMSOIL USAC Sprint Car champion collected first place trophies at Lawrenceburg Speedway and Lincoln Park Speedway during “Indiana Sprint Week” in July to bring his win tally to five on the 2015 USAC National Sprint Car slate.

Avon, Indiana’s Jon Stanbrough, the most recent winner of a USAC Sprint Car event at Angell Park in June of 2014, is fielding his own car on the USAC trail this year. Currently holding down the 5th spot, Stanbrough hasn’t recorded a USAC victory in nearly 12 months, but has remained a front-runner with 18 top-tens and 10 top-fives in 22 starts.  Leading rookie contender Aaron Farney, of Brookston, Indiana, shook the racing world in the month of July after earning a dominating, high-profile victory during “Indiana Sprint Week” at the half-mile Terre Haute Action Track.  Farney, who sits just outside the top-ten in points is hoping his recent surge of late pushes him into the top-ten as he makes his first go-around on the full USAC schedule.

Although Angell Park has hosted 46 USAC National Midget events since 1970, Sunday will mark just the fifth appearance for the sprint cars on the 1/3 mile dirt oval.  Jack Hewitt took the very first USAC Sprint Car win at the track in June of 2001 while J.J. Yeley took top honors in 2002. After a decade-long hiatus, the USAC Sprint Cars returned to Angell Park in 2012 with Dave Darland taking the checkered flag.  Jon Stanbrough took the most recent win at the track one season ago.

The three-race mini-series in the “Badger State” of Wisconsin featuring the AMSOIL USAC Sprint Car National Championship begins Friday, August 7 at AMSOIL Speedway in Superior, then travels to Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond on Saturday, August 8, before concluding at Sun Prairie’s venerable Angell Park Speedway on Sunday, August 9.

Along with the AMSOIL USAC Sprints, the event card includes the Badger 600 Micro Series and the Wisconsin Dirt Legends.  Front gates open at 4:30pm while cars are slated to hit the track at 6pm.   Adult general admission is $20; students age 12-18 are $15, and kids under the age of 12 are free!

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed