[horizontal-scrolling group="GROUP1" speed="10" direction="left" gap="50"]

35th Annual Pepsi Nationals Sunday, July 3rd

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

The “35th annual Pepsi Midget Nationals,” one of midget racing’s crown jewel events will be run on Sunday, July 3 at Angell Park Speedway.   The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series event will draw some of the sport’s biggest names to 1/3-mile clay oval.

Paying $3,000 to win and $500 to start, the feature race will be increased to 35 laps celebrating thirty-five years of the event.  Non-qualifiers will receive $300.  Angell Park is also celebrating their 70th anniversary season of racing this year.

Current POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series points leader Tanner Thorson has finished runner-up in the event the past two years.  Last year Thorson led the entire race until being passed by Rico Abreu for the lead on the final lap.

Zach Daum, winner of the 2013 Pepsi Nationals, is currently second in the point standings. Daum is  looking to join a short list of repeat winner of the event which include: Kevin Olson (1983, 1986-87, 1997-98), Kevin Doty (1988-90, 1994-95), Tracy Hines (2001-02, 2010), Dan Boorse (1984, 1999), and  Scott Hatton (2004-2005).

The event is the fourth oldest continuous running midget race trailing the Turkey Night Grand Prix (1934), Belleville Midget Nationals (1978), and the 4 Crown Nationals (1981).


Pit Gates Open at 12:00pm

Pill Draw – 4:00pm to 5:30pm

Drivers Meeting – 5:40pm

Spectator gates open – 5:00pm

General Admission – $20.00, Kids (under 12) FREE with adult

Hot Laps – 6:00pm, racing following hot laps

Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube IconTwitter Icontwitter follow buttonSubscribe To Our RSS Feed